District of Columbia, 1952

Patterned somewhat on the model of the U.S.A trilogy, Dos Passos unifies three books for a second trilogy called District of Columbia (Adventures of a Young Man, 1939; Number One, 1943; The Grand Design, 1949). He satirizes the preening tycoons that rule America’s postwar bureaucracies, labor unions, and political parties.

Purchase at Amazon.com